7 Levels of Choice

What are the different levels of understanding choice by people on the physical plane, from the lowest level of understanding to the highest?

Michael: We will first outline the seven levels of the choice making process, and this is specifically related to fragments choosing based on their own personal truths, which is of course the criteria which fragments utilize when making such decisions. We do understand that your inquiry here has to do specifically with the progression of understanding related to choice as a Universal truth, but we do think that the understanding of such larger concepts also relates to the processes through which a fragment traverses in order to reach the culmination of such efforts ie decisive understanding.

The first level of choice is Identification with the positive pole of prognosis and the negative lethargy. At this phase of the process a fragment identifies that a choice may be "in order" and sees either the possibility of an outcome in the positive pole, or the inertia which is a result of no action at all, the negative pole. We would suggest that many, many fragments find themselves in the first 3 stages of choice, with a full 48-52% of that total in level one. It is very common for fragments to simply persuade themselves into believing that there are at the hands of "fate" and that it simply is beyond their control to change anything, or to make an internal adjustment in response to a given stimuli. In the positive pole of prognosis it is possible to comprehend the validity or necessity of change and or choice, and it is from this position that fragments then choose to proceed to level two. If a fragment is in the negative pole, it is more likely that the following steps will be taken without due course, with trepidation and certainly with doubt, suspicion and disbelief.

The second level of choice is composition with the positive pole of preference and the negative of concealment. It is at this level that a fragment becomes aware of the components of the choice to be made, the structure of the "issues" and essentially constructs the basis upon which the future choice will be made, and this of course can include desertion (level 7) which is also a choice. We might call this phase a prelude to the consideration of phase 3. The negative pole often times distorts facts which then conceals the validity of truth of a personal nature. In other words, the fragment is unable to perceive the legitimacy of the structural components and therefore discards and or hides the "facts" in lieu of false perceptions. The positive pole allows the fragment to entertain what the tendencies might be without taking the necessary steps toward the finalization of choice.

The third level of choice is deliberation with the positive pole of focus and the negative of misalignment. Fragments can become inert here as they weigh the various options of choice, landing in the negative of misalignment which refers to the relationship of one aspect to another. The act of deliberation can be concise or extended depending on the specifics of the situation.

The fourth level of choice is analysis with the positive pole of clarification and the negative of interpolation. This phase or level can be ongoing such as with scholar fragments or those with scholar overleaves, as analysis is far more comfortable than action, even those on an internal basis. In the positive pole a fragment is then able to understand the nature of the proposed choice, and prepares for the expression of such either to him/herself or to others. The negative inserts unnecessary details which are distracting or what might be called irrelevant data.

The fifth level of choice is articulation with the positive pole of precision and the negative of befuddlement. Here we find the expressive nature of the sage level both in the positive of accuracy of expression and the negative of confusion and misrepresentation. We would say that articulation could also be said to be definition.

The sixth level of choice is Unification with the positive pole of homogenization and the negative of catastrophe. As is the case in any seven step process, the sixth phase must bring together disparate parts into harmony through the art of blending. The negative pole implies disaster but as noted, many fragments do not reach the 6th level in the negative pole for often times the process is abandoned in the earlier stages. All is chosen however, and sailors have been known to abandon their ships only when they sink and not before, which is of course the seventh level negative pole of desertion.

The final level of choice at seven is Resolution with the positive of implementation and the negative of desertion. The resolution which occurs at this phase is not necessarily an external event, for choice is not determined solely by external action, although it is possible for a moving centered fragment to move before thinking, but then of course this is also choice. The positive pole here of implementation implies that the choice is made, whether it is internal without external representation, or followed by such. Desertion, which is the negative pole, is also a choice.

© 2006 Victoria Marina-Tompkins
all rights reserved

Back to Articles Page


Home    Shamanism     Michael Teachings     Private Consultations      Michael Groups

Shamanic Circles     Upcoming Events     Articles    Music    Books    Blog    About    Photo Gallery    Contact


Copyright © 2003-2020 by Victoria Marina-Tompkins. All Rights Reserved.
Web design by Daniel B. Holeman.